Risk of Living

Those were the days when life was a dream waiting to happen….

I wandered lonely as a cloud, and dreamt of lifelong friends, soul-stirring conversations, ever expanding networks and spheres of influence. Human beings survive on hope and imagination. 

Everything that is yet to happen is beautiful. It keeps us moving towards a goal post. We know the goal post can move, but it does not stop us from moving.

“Would you like us to stop?” I hear a voice so familiar. It feels like my own.

There is no one  in the room. I know it’s my conscience, and I’ll be ever grateful for it. It stops the ramblings of an old man from converting to a rant.

Risk is what is left on the table, after I’ve provided for everything. Let it remain. We need to exist with the risk of living.

Written for Prosery at dVerse

14 thoughts on “Risk of Living

Leave a comment