The Meaning of Life

My thoughts flow

with the river stream

I see my life mirrored

in the distorted shapes

and non-rhythmic sounds.

 

The stones speak to me

with their sharp edges

Blood flows in the water

emphasizing insignificance

of harbored resentments.

 

It appeared as if the universe was conspiring to prove the futility of life. I came here to end my earthly existence, rather than lose my individuality to the ocean.

Then, I saw water falling from the mountain, with high pressure, and creating a small universe around it. It nurtured different forms of life in it, and renewed itself after hitting the rocks. The spot had boosted tourism, providing livelihood to many people.

I had found the meaning of life.

 

Poem, then prose – a form of Haibun inspired by

Colleen’s Weekly Poetry Challenge #39

Image: eskipaper.com

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

