Fundamentals

I was enraged to see Tia in tears, and the doll I bought for her pulled apart. The doll was supposed to cry when the nipple was pulled out from its mouth, and quiten on the same being inserted back.

Animesh was patiently trying to put it back together.

“I need to understand how it functions. I can order better toys for her, then…”

The doll was back in shape, but the charm of holding something new in hand was taken away from us. I saw shades of him in Tia, who would turn the toys upside down, and check how automobile wheels moved.

I had fallen in love with Animesh, who was ten years older, and my teacher. He would often say,

“One cannot understand the fundamental nature of things, without breaking down the existing structures and available information. Then, your imagination and creativity helps you in establishing a theory. I cannot understand anything, unless I create it.”

My mundane job with a publishing firm, and the responsibility of being a homemaker and mother, overshadows every other interest in life.

I consider myself fortunate, that Animesh has remained the man I fell in love with – a Professor of Philosophy.

(200 words)

 

Inspired by 

Dragonition Writing Prompt #237

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

