Elevation

OF KNOTS THAT BIND

Should I kneel or bow under the high ceiling of a church or temple, dwarfing myself? Should I lose my sense of self, in the intricate architecture and multi-hued stained glass? Am I happy being dwarfed by overpowering forces, or in feeling elevated and inspired? Should I lament my smallness in the grand scheme of the universe, or aspire to be larger than life?

Any complex structure that clutters your mind will thwart progress. Only clean, sharp lines that are free to assume different shapes, and enclose different thoughts, can ensure forward movement. It has to be  a pathway that liberates, not a knot that obstructs.

Upward energy

defying all gravity

raises thought levels

Haibun inspired by Collen Cheesebro at

Colleen’s Weekly Poetry Challenge -33

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

