The Impact of Touch

I had been wanting to try this for sometime — using the same prompt to write in various forms.

Warning: This is a rather long post with eight forms/meters of poetry attempted.

HAIKU

Your touch sparked a thought

A twist created unrest,

disturbed mental health.

 

TANKA

Your touch created

electric sparks in my head

twisting me shapeless

and saw my frail health leading

life to eternal rest.

 

SHADORMA

You touched me

And I winced in pain

You twisted

My frail hands

sparking off ill health

and laid love to rest.

 

VILLANELLE

Do not kill love with all your might

I am frail, and in poor health

Do not touch to hurt, and end life.

 

Your indifference to my pain

Sparks beastly instincts in me

Do not kill love with all your might.

 

I gave myself out of love

when I agreed to be your wife.

Do not touch to hurt and end life.

 

I see a broken, desperate man,

If you trust, I can still be your strength

Do not kill love with all your might.

 

Try and ignite that spark again

which made us fall in love at first sight.

Do not touch to hurt and end life.

 

Or I will lay to rest all doubts

you nurture about my inner strength.

Do not touch to hurt and end life.

Do not kill love with all your might.

 

NINE TO ONE

The electric sparks of the wire that touched me

shocked my health, and faith in your love.

Hell hath no fury like women scorned

I am mad, I can kill.

Your face twisted in anger

never let me rest,

your contorted expressions

lacerated my

love.

 

CINQUAIN

Touch me

till you spark off

shady pursuits with

twisted intent in mental health

then, rest.

 

28

A twist of fate

Sparks off a crisis

You touch my hand

and lay to rest

all doubts and fears.

Silent assurance of strength

restores my mental health.

 

FREE VERSE

The knife stabbed in my back

has laid to rest

all notions

about that spark

of humanity in you.

 

Misplaced trust

and a twist of fate

spelt the end for me,

but failed to touch

any chord in you.

 

May you achieve

health, wealth and fame

and live in interesting times!

May your dead conscience awaken

when your faith betrays you!

 

Inspired by

Weekly Writing Prompt -78 at Secretkeeper

Prompt Words

(5) Words: | SPARK | TOUCH | TWIST | HEALTH | REST |

Coverpic: malibuvista.com

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

