Resolution

Mom always said, I was not OK, and I needed to improve a lot.

An imposed discipline, a forced regime, an apologetic promise were created to assure her, that I intended to be good.

The New Year Resolutions were framed and hung on the wall, to remind me of my inadequacies.

I can’t recall when Mom’s/ Boss’s voice became my inner voice, and I continued to rebel against myself.

Resolutions, like promises, are meant to be broken. After all, I’m OK.

 

Written for Patricia’s Place – In other words, resolution

https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/10919228/posts/1275980440

8 Comments

  1. Having grown up with those same negative messages that became self-messages, I liked this very much! I have learned that I can be ok with me and still strive to make changes that will make me happier in the long run, rather than trying to correct perceived flaws.

    Like

Leave a Reply

