Managing Information Overload

InfoOverload

I am all set to embark on a vacation, today, and the Fear of Missing Out (FOMO) has hit. The Power Bank has been carefully charged and packed to prevent the dreaded Low Battery signals. I hope there are no network issues, and my friends give me some time alone, to catch up on social media.

Is it a good idea to have a Content Bank, ready to be posted intermittently? Will I miss out on notifications on the blogs that I keenly follow? What about other online tools?

Does it really matter? Does anybody really care?

Why does an independent person so gladly give in to this mental slavery, and gets lost in the surrounding clutter? I just skim through the selfies, self-promotion, declarations of familial love and the jokes. It is not my cup of tea. But I do need the mental nourishment and the healthy interaction, which a good knowledge post provides. Yet, do I need all the wealth of knowledge, from all the intellectuals in the world, for my day-to-day existence

context matters

And this is where managing information overload acquires importance. This is some interesting trivia that I came across on digitalintelligencetoday.com

90% of all the data in the world has been generated over the last two years.  (Article dated 2013).

(Wonder what I was doing in all the years before 2011?)

Information Fatigue Syndrome : When the volume of potentially useful and relevant information available exceeds processing capacity and becomes a hindrance rather than a help.

I wish I could sort out my social media feed better, but that will need an online tutorial, and opinions from the experts. Let me make my humble effort.

CATEGORIZATION

  1. Whatever appeals to me

What I want may not be what I need. But I have been guilty of indulgence. The stuff that I read and write is not all relevant to my profession, but is essentially, a part of me. It gives me a more rounded perspective of life and the world.

And I intend to continue with the indulgence.

2. What is professionally relevant

This is what I should really not miss out on. Flagging mails and parking the articles somewhere should help me in catching up later.

3. Whatever challenges my beliefs

This is contrary to all that I have believed in, and the values that I have lived by. And yes, this it is precisely why do I need to understand this. Maybe, to despise it a little more. Maybe it becomes a transformational exercise, or creates a detour in my thinking process.

Probably, this is the point where life moves ahead.

4. Where a response is needed to maintain relationships

Surprisingly, this comprises a large part of the daily interaction. I do not want to be seen as aloof or impolite, so I dutifully send the birthday and anniversary wishes, and click the Like or Comment buttons. I remind friends to send me the pictures they so lovingly clicked, and then, allowed those to stagnate in the Gallery. I don’t flaunt private moments on social media, but I do need to have them in my possession, maybe to stagnate in my phone Gallery 🙂

Aren’t these things mutual? Very few of us are free of such expectation biases in social interactions.

5. What could be useful at some future point in time

File it, tweet it, stash it away in the mailbox, for smooth retrieval at the time of need.

6. Whatever is Urgent

This is a no-brainer. It just needs to be done. It is more likely to be in the mailbox, than a social media feed, but calls for immediate action.  It could be a ‘Will get back to you later’ AutoReply, but respond you must.

PRIORITIZATION

If I could prioritize the above 6 points, based on the impact they have on my life, I have won the battle. Really? It may not be that simple. There is a part of life ahead that beckons, not just social media.

How about this ? Does it help in creating an action plan for life ?

priorities

And it becomes the springboard to my next piece.

 

2 Comments

  1. AGAIN A GOOD ONE FROM YOUR REENA.. I read it carefully and found every bit of it very useful that makes sense. Yeah sometimes this question arises why do we really share so many views on social sites, why do we really care about others’ opinion upon our thoughts and what is need of following people to know their views on a related topic. But I believe these interactions have many long term benefits associated, it’s not necessary that we would get the change to apply every shared knowledge in near future but words leave a mark and we can recall it at the moment of need.
    Thanks for sharing . I’m a fan of your writing and analysis!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

